Friday, July 17, 2009

Today on Serious Grape: Back to Basics with the Noble Grapes

You all know I'd do almost anything to taste a new grape variety. The quest for the new and the exotic comes at a price, though. Sometimes I forget to pay sufficient attention to the six grape varieties that have earned the distinction of being called "noble grapes." (photo by "T" altered art)

Chardonnay, Riesling, Sauvignon Blanc, Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, and Pinot Noir are the key players in grape cultivation and wine production--and they have been for some time. Find out why--and get my recommendations for afordable bottles in the market now--in this week's Serious Grape column over on Serious Eats.

I reviewed my wine cellar and for a woman consumed with new grapes I've got a lot of bottles made from these traditional varieties. Just under 40% of the wine now in my possession is made primarily or exclusively with one of these grapes.

How about you? How largely do the noble grapes figure in your wine drinking habits?


wineywhites said...

While I love all these grapes, I'm drinking for value a lot more these days. That means grapes that generally don't fit into these categories, like Rhone Valley blends from Vacqueyras, tempranillo from Spain and Portugal, Malbec from Argentina, and Carmenere from Chile. While I love all the noble varieties, I think the wine world is so much bigger than just these few, and love to try them all.

Jimmy said...

Thanks for sharing your thoughts on noble grapes

Dr. Debs said...

I'm with you, Wineywhites. It's easy to forget they exist with all the new, affordable varieties so it's always good to check back in with the classics.